Ribeye Steak with Blue Cheese and Bacon Crust

Man it is hard to type this post without salivating.  Remember my post from yesterday about Ferguson’s Meat Market?  Well, here’s what I did with those ribeyes and complimentary bacon.

You might recall that I was having a primal craving for some steak.  And ribeye steaks are easily my favorite!  They are so tender and juicy.  One of these day’s I’m going to buy a whole ribeye and slice my own steaks.  I just need to get enough friends to feed.  Anyway, I have read alot about cooking steaks and I constantly hear, “high heat, salt and pepper”.  It’s simple, straight forward, and easy to follow.  At the fancy American steak houses you will almost always get a well seared steak with an almost crispy crust.  This is formed by the super high temperatures (800 degrees F) they get from their broilers.  The crust is the fusion of the salt and pepper into the flesh of the steak.  And it’s delicious!

With that in mind, I was going to take my wonderfully marbled steaks from Ferguson’s and cook them at a very high temperature on my Big Green Egg.  With the egg I can get temperatures close to 700 degrees F, which is much better than my gas grill.  Let’s get started.  To prep the steaks I sprinkled a liberal amount of kosher salt and FRESHLY GOUND BLACK PEPPER.  Dont use the pre-ground crap.  All that stuff does is make you sneeze.  Please please please, buy a pepper mill or get the pepper that comes with the grinder.  It is soooooo worth it!  And before placing the steaks on the grill I rubbed them with a little bit of vegetable oil.

Beautifully marbled Certified Angus Beef Ribeyes

Get plenty of salt and pepper on the steak to get that great flavor you crave.

To get the grill ready I started the lump charcoal and turned the vents wide open and let the grill get as hot as possible.

A roaring hot fire is key in getting a nice sear on the steaks.

While the grill is heating, go ahead and make the topping of blue cheese and bacon.  Fry up a large slice or two of chopped bacon until just crispy.  The sprinkle in 1/4 cup of blue cheese, and you’re done!

Combine blue cheese and bacon.

Mix them together and try not to take pinches of the combination to taste. This mixture is addicting.

Now that the grill is as hot as it’s going to get, slap the steaks on the fire and close the lid.  Let them sear for 3 to 4 minutes (I did 3).  Then flip them to the other side and give ‘em another 3 to 4 minutes.  Once they are seared nicely on both sides they are almost ready to go.  Open the lid and brush with some butter on both sides.  The sprinkle on the blue cheese and bacon mixture and cook for a couple more minutes and you are done!  A perfectly cooked medium rare steak!  Now the hardest part is getting the steak off the grill with out spilling most of the toppings (I kind of failed at this).

 

Ribeyes on a hot grill, a beautiful sight.
Let the blue cheese melt into the steak.

Let the steaks sit for a couple minutes after pulling them off the grill.  This will help the juices settle in and give the steak a consistently good flavor.  You will notice that these steaks can be cut so easily.  They are so tender!  Pair this with a red wine you like, or an iced cold beer and you are doing good!  I can’t wait to do these again!

 

A delicious meal with the ribeye as the star performer

Look at that nice red center. Medium rare is the only way to eat a steak.

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ribeye Steak with Blue Cheese and Bacon Crust

  1. John says:

    Those look great, Rob. I am going o have to get a charcoal grill just for doing steaks. I agree with you, you can’t get the gas grill hot enough and it won’t sustain the heat. Tell mom I need a BGE.

Leave a Reply

