Eating in Berkeley: Venus

As I mentioned in my last post about our third day in California, we drove through Berkeley en-route to Napa.  Well, I’ll have you know, there aint shit to really see in Berkeley.  But there is a really good place to eat, and it’s name is Venus.

I found Venus on, you guessed it, Trip Advisor.  Remember what Dwight Schrute says about tripadvisor, “It is the life-blood of the agro-tourism industry.”  Sorry, back on track.  From what I read about Venus everything sounded wonderful.  Their menu looked very good with a wide range of dishes to pick from that could suit all appetites and moods.  It just looked like a cool place to eat.

We got there at 9am and were seated right away.  I got a cup of coffee which was very good.  Laura noticed that Venus, like so many other places in San Fran, boasted about using all organic ingredients.  This aspect is important to a lot of people who are very cognizant of what they put in their bodies, but it just hasn’t grasped me yet.  I feel like the term organic has no binding definition so when people throw it out I have no idea what they mean.  But whatever, I’m not going to fault people who care about it.

I really like the glass coffee cup. Seeing the cream mix in with the dark coffee is beautiful.

Back to the food.  Sorry about the derails.  Laura got the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes served with sides of blackberry compote, lemon curd, and maple syrup.  They were really good!  I especially liked dipping the pancakes in the lemon curd and blackberry compote.  Delicious!  I cant wait to make some lemon ricotta pancakes.  Then eat about 40 of them!

The lemon ricotta pancakes were cooked too perfection! I think ricotta pancakes might be my new favorite pancakes. Previous favorite - huge pancakes.

I got an omelet with bacon (you damn right!), onions, and avocados.  Served with roated potatoes, the dish was very nice.  Also, something you will notice from the picture is the eggs look seemless!  It’s incredible!  I have two explanations for the seemless omelet.  1) Probably most likely they whipped the eggs prior to cooking.  I mean really whipped them.  Or 2) they used egg beaters.  Gawd I hope it wasnt options 2.  Either way the food was terrific!

Omelet stuffed with all my favorite things. If it were stuffed with Oprahs favorite things there would be a roomba and a trip to Australia in there.

If you are forced to go to Berkeley try to make the most of the trip and get to Venus for some breakfast.  The Lunch menu also looks really good, and I have no reason to think otherwise.  Strongly recommend!
Venus on Urbanspoon

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in food, Restaurant Review, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating in Berkeley: Venus

  1. John says:

    I am not much of a pancake eater, but lemon ricotta sounds pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

