Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Review

A while ago I had a hankering for some butternut squash soup.  It was cold outside and I really wanted some soup.  So I found this recipe for Butternut Squash Soup with Cinnamon Whipped Cream and Fried Shallots on the Food Network website.  Granted there are millions of butternut squash soup recipes out there, so picking one is kind of a crap shoot.  But this one looked good because I liked all the ingredients in it.  Plus putting glorified onion rings (fried shallots) on top is always good in my book.

This recipe is by Anne Burrell of the Food Network.  She hosts a couple shows on Food Network including Worst Cooks in America.  Since I had the time (Laura was out of town all week) and the desire I thought this recipe was a good match for me.

In this post, I’m not going to talk you through the cooking process because it’s really self explanatory from the link I included.  I will however, offer my unfiltered opinions on the dish.

First, this dish make a metric crap load of soup.  I made it on Monday and ate it everyday until Friday.  There was still leftovers.  By Friday, I was sick of it.  If you make this soup per the instructions, you should probably have a bunch of soup craving people over.

Next, be judicious when adding the cinnamon whipped cream.  If you add too much, you will have a soup that’ll definitely create a stomach ache.  I don’t care how resiliant your tummy is, too much cream combined with this rich soup will make you …. let’s say uncomfortable.

While the fried shallots are a nice and delicious touch, I dont believe the amount of work is worth it.  The most laborious process, to me, was chopping, breading, then frying these mini-onions.  It creates a mess of oil, and isn’t something you can just throw in hot oil and get them out all at once.  I recommend you get the French’s Fried Onions instead.  You know, the best part of a green bean casserole.

Overall this is a decent recipe for butternut squash soup.  The flavors are good and the cinnamon whipped cream is a nice touch.  I usually consider this type of soup to be an appetizer, so having it as my dinner entree for an entire week was too much.  I’d halve this in the future if I were making it for 4 to 6 people.  Mainly because I dont really want the left overs.  But honestly I think I’d roll the dice on a different recipe.  I really like curry, so I’d probably look for a curried butternut squash soup.

Night 1 of 5 of butternut squash soup

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Review

  1. John says:

    I like the idea of looking for a curry recipe. That sounds pretty good to me.

    • yeah, curried anything is good in my book. If im going to try it, I’ll have to do it while it’s still cold. I usually dont have a desire for hot butternut squash soup on a hot atlanta day.

Leave a Reply

