Potatos Gratin with Goat Cheese

I’ve never made scalloped potatoes that weren’t from a mix because I didn’t have anything to cut them thin with.  So I got a OXO handheld mandolin to open up a world of thin sliced foods.  I’ll do a review of the gadget once I use it a couple times and let you know what I think.

Laura found this recipe on cooking light for Potatoes Gratin with Goat Cheese and Garlic.  It’s title did nothing to dissuade me from trying it.  I like potatoes.  I like gratins.  I like goat cheeses.  And I like garlics!  What’s not to like about this recipe?  And from reading how to make it, it seemed super easy!  All good things.

Here’s what you will need:

  • 2.5 pounds of potatoes (russet or yukon gold)
  • 1 cup of half and half
  • 1 tbsp of flour
  • 1 cup goat cheese crumbles
  • 1 cup low fat milk
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 clove of garlic (I will add more, because I’m a man!)

OK, this is really simple.  Peel the potatoes, or better yet, get your kids to peel the potatoes.  The thinly slice them with the mandolin or however you want.  It doesn’t matter as long as you get the job done.  The mix together the flour and half and half.  Once those are combined, add the goat cheese, milk, salt and pepper to taste, nutmeg, and however much minced garlic you want.

Spray a baking dish (I’m using a 9×13 because I dont have a 7×11) with Pam.  Get it all good and pam-ed.  The place a single layer of the potato slices on teh bottom.  Cover with half of the well mixed milk mixture.  Then layer the rest of the potatoes and cover with the remaining milk mixture.

These potatoes look like a school of manatees on the counter.

The mandolin worked really well for making these thin slices.

Laura did a great job of layering the potato slices in the pan. Srsly a great job.

Now bake that bad boy at 400 for an hour and ten minutes, or until the potatoes look golden brown.  A nice touch you could do at the end would be to sprinkle some parmesan cheese on top for the last 5 minutes to give a nice golden crispy crust.

The golden crust was good.

When you taste this dish you will think, “I can see how this is healthy.”  Which is the polite way of saying, “Why isnt there more cheese on this bad boy?!?”  I think this recipe needs more bite.  The goat cheese is nice, but I think it might be better with a mix of goat cheese and feta or gorgonzola.  Something a little stronger.  Will I make this again?  Probably not.  I think I will find another scalloped potato recipe.  However, if I needed a light side dish during the week, this is an easy and not too bad option.

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Recipe Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potatos Gratin with Goat Cheese

  1. John says:

    Goat cheese, tofu, skimmed milk, organic anything and sprouts are all a tip off that flavor is not a concern.

Leave a Reply

