Restaurant Review: Highland Bakery (Breakfast/Brunch)

Highland Bakery, you say?  Isn’t that… inside the perimeter?? Yeah BOI!!  Inside the Perimeter, baby!!!

Ok ok, I need to control myself.  Going ITP is not like going to Six Flags.  I’m not going to pee my pants in excitement.  But I do enjoy going downtown because there are so many places my friends have told me to go that I havent gotten to.  Highland Bakery is one of those places.

My first impression of  Highland Bakery was, “Damn this place must be popular!” because there were many people waiting around outside.  At 11am on a Saturday we had a wait of 45 minutes for a table of 4.  I shouldnt be surprised.  This is the norm for a good restaurant brunch on a beautiful day in the city.  What I didnt know at the time was I could have gone inside and ordered a cup of coffee or something to help pass the time.  But the conversation I was having was pleasant so it didnt even occur to me.

In the dining area people are packed in shoulder to shoulder.  If you have space issues, this may not be the place for you.  But then again, suck it up and live a little, will you?  Now I know the waiters had to take care of many tables at one time, but the service still seemed overly slow and unattentive.  There is not a lot of room in the place for the waiter to continually skip over your table.  So I would have liked a couple more check-ins.

Our food took about 25 minutes to be delivered, but once it was I was sure glad to see it!  All of the dishes at the table were beautiful!  And they all tasted fantastic!!  Since I was still full from my meal the night before, I got the lighter ricotta pancakes with blueberries.  Yum!  They were so moist and cooked to perfection!  There were plenty of blueberries which I love!  This was terrific!

Ricotta Pancakes with Blueberries

Other dishes at the table were the country fried steak eggs benedict which got great reviews.  The peanut butter and banana french toast was a site to see.  This dish was like an entire loaf of bread on the plate!  There is no way anybody could eat the entire thing and then look themselves in the mirror without crying.  But the bites of it that I tried were very very good, especially if you like peanut butter (which I do!).  Finally, at the table we had the Rustica.  This dish, of all the others, I wish I would have ordered.  It was grilled bread topped with spinach, mushrooms, over easy eggs, a fabulous red pepper sauce, and cheese.  I got to try a bite, and it was phenomenal!  I really loved it.  It was served with some roasted potatoes with a nice seasoning of rosemarry.

Country Fried Steak Eggs Benedict

Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast

Rustica, delicious!!

I really cant say much more about the breakfast/brunch other than it was great, and worth the wait!
Highland Bakery on Urbanspoon

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Restaurant Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Restaurant Review: Highland Bakery (Breakfast/Brunch)

  1. John says:

    Christiane posted a photo of her with that heap of french toast. Looks like a great place. I wonder if they allow sharing entrees?

    • I am sure they allow sharing entrees. I haven’t been to a place in a long time that didn’t allow sharing. The breakfast there is definitely good and well worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

