Restaurant Review: Dickey’s Barbecue Pit

I’ve been in the Alpharetta area for almost two years and if there is one thing I have learned, there is no shortage of BBQ joints in the area.  I’ve never caught myself saying, “I really wish there was a good BBQ place nearby.”

In my mind, the BBQ joints can be separated into two categories.  Fast food barbecue, and restaurant barbecue.  Dickey’s Barbecue Pit definitely falls into the fast food barbecue segment.  Don’t get me wrong, there are merits to both categories, but I think during evaluation one must consider the category.

The first thing I noticed about Dickey’s as I walked in the front door was a huge mural photograph of some cowboys, one of which looks a lot like Ronald Reagan.  To me it looks like a ‘shop (a photoshop job).  It may not be, but I think it is.

The menu is exactly what you would expect.  You can get meat sandwiches, or you can get meat plates.  If you are looking for a low calorie, or heart healthy menu, look somewhere else.  When I last went I decided to get the one meat plate which comes with two sides and bread roll. I got the sliced brisket with sides of mac and cheese and potato salad.

Next to the drink fountain is a selection of sweet, spicy, and original barbecue sauces.  The spicy is decently spicy, the sweet is sweet-ish, and the original tastes like regular-ass barbecue sauce.

Ok, how was the food.  The brisket, when judged in the fast-food category, is pretty good.  They give you enough of it too so you dont feel like you’re eating a Lunchable.  The mac and cheese was allright, I’d try something different next time.  And the potato salad was pretty good.  Although I really have a hard time calling it potato salad.  It is more like mashed potatoes with mustard and other junk.  There are no semblance of potato chunks, but its still pretty good.

Lunchables suck pretty bad. In elementary school I was NEVER jealous of the kids that brought these meager bastards to lunch.

I have nothing against Dickey’s as a fast-food barbecue joint.  It’s one of the better ones I’ve been to.  Don’t be affraid of giving it a go.
Dickey's Barbecue Pit on Urbanspoon

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Restaurant Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Restaurant Review: Dickey’s Barbecue Pit

  1. John says:

    The electric kool-aid acid test for a BBQ joint is ribs and fried okra. Just sayin’

  2. Rich says:

    I was always jealous of the kids with Lunchables, except on chicken fried steak day.

    I’ve been to Dickey’s a few times in the Dallas area and it was adequate. You could definitely do better by going to a local joint for brisket when you’re in Texas, but there aren’t many places in Atlanta to find passable brisket. My verdict is that Dickey’s is good when you’re outside of TX and fiending for passable brisket.

Leave a Reply

