Restaurant Review: ‘Cue

Barbecue restaurants are all over the place in Georgia.  Some good, some bad, but most of them are very similar.  Differences usually arise in the sauces and side dishes.  But a lot of the time there is little difference in the quality of the prepared meats and atmosphere.

‘Cue, off of Highway 9 in Milton, GA is another barbecue restaurant that has the menu as predictable as clip of a dad getting hit in the nuts on America’s Funniest Home Videos.  The atmosphere in the restaurant is exactly like you would expect.  The bar looks like a saloon from a spaghetti western and there are sepia tone pictures on the wall.  But with all of this predictability comes food that is surprisingly very good!

Holy crap!! It's like you are in a real saloon!! Wild Wild West, fo real!

Being from Texas, the Mecca of Barbecue, I know a few things.  It’s in my blood, so you can pretty much consider me your authority on all things BBQ related.  And in Texas, the preferred style of barbecue is sliced brisket and smoked sausage.  So when I went into ‘Cue, I decided to put them to the test and try their brisket and sausage.

For sides I got the mac and cheese and brunswick stew.  The sides were both really good.  ‘Cue’s motto, which is printed on all of their shirts, is “Everything Homemade” and that came out very clearly.  The mac and cheese had some of the delicious browning from the top.  Creamy, cheesey, and delicious!  Some of the best mac and cheese I have had in a while.  The brunswick stew was also very good.  I would have liked a little more corn and pork, but the flavor was on point.

Now the most important part, brisket and sausage.  The SLICED (never get it chopped!) brisket came out with an enticingly pink smoke ring that was a couple millimeters thick.  Many places, especially those fastfood BBQ joints, dont get the great smoke ring.  While the meat had a fantastic look, it was a little dry, but a healthy dip in their barbecue sauce helped with that.  I would give the brisket a B, but judged against it’s local competitors an A-.

I'd say this was plenty of food. The grilled bread was especially good!

The smoked sausage was very ample!  It was definitely homemade and had a great spicy flavor that I absolutely loved!  When cutting into it you could see the different spices they incorported into the link.  I also appreciated the small areas of char from the grill.  Those add to the amazing smokey flavor and gave it a wonderful look.  The sausage put ‘Cue over the top as a place that I will definitely be visiting again.

The only thing I would caution you about with ‘Cue are the desceptively comfortable hightop booths.  I decided to sit in one of these and found it very annoying that my feet were swinging like 4 year old.  I guess I just need my feet on the gound.  Unless you want your feet to swing, or you can dunk without jumping, go for one of the conventional tables.

‘Cue is a place I will go to again.  Next time I’ll sample the ribs and pulled pork which, if the brisket and sausage are any indication, will be fantastic!
'Cue Barbecue on Urbanspoon

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Restaurant Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restaurant Review: ‘Cue

  1. Rich says:

    Congrats. Finding good brisket in Atlanta was just about impossible. Rolling Bones on Edgewood (ITP) used to be good, but must have changed management. The brisket quality started at acceptable+ but took a 20-story swan dive like Gary Busey’s dignity. It went from sliced to chopped, tasty to something you eat on a dare. I last ate there in ’09. Hopefully they changed.

    My only question on ‘cue is whether you can round out the brisket and sausage with authentic Texas sides (chili beans, fresh onions, fresh pickles, untoasted white bread). That used to be possible at Rolling Bones until their food became as appetizing as a drunk Hasselhoff eating a hamburger.

Leave a Reply

