Big Green Egging Brisket and Sausage

I grew up in the greatest republic in the entire world!  Texas is truely the best place to grow up, live, eat, and be patriotic.  There is nothing wrong with it and everybody needs to know that.

Other than me, the greatest gift Texas has given the world is sliced (SLICED!) brisket barbecue served with sausage.  Now you are probably surprised to hear that I have very little experience making these two delicacies.  And that is because I would always go to our church picnic and eat styrofoam trays full of brisket and sausage that somebody else made.  I had it easy, everything I ever needed was given to me.

But times have changed.  I have left Texas in search for new areas to colonize and I no longer have the luxury of getting brisket and sausage made for me.  But I’m resilient and I can adapt, damnit!  So I need to make my own.

Here’s what I did.  I loosely followed Adam Perry Lang’s recipe for “Get a book Brisket”.  First step was to wrap the meat with a mixture of beef base paste, mustard, and chili powder.  The coat everything with a dry rub.  Any dry rub you like will work, top serious.

Beef, it's what's for dinner!

I then prepared the Big Green Egg for inderect heat set to 250 degrees Fahrenheit.  Right before placing the meat on the grill I threw down a bunch of soaked hickory chips to create a large amount of smoke and steam.  I let the meat get to around 165 (actually, since I was sleeping, it got to 180) before I wrapped the slab in foil with a mixture of honey, brown sugar, and butter.

I love the sight of the Big Green Egg puffing out smoke. God Bless America!

Aww yeah!

From that point I let the meat braze for another 6 or so hours until I was ready to eat.  For the last hour, I put the meat in the oven to sit and stay insulated.  It really stayed hot.  I then put the kielbasa sausage on the Egg at 300 degrees for an hour and some change.

By now I was hungry, really hungry.  I started to slice the brisket and was a little disappoint to see the meat just fall apart.  This was quickly becoming chopped brisket.  It was clear to me that I over cooked the brisket.  I should have been a little more dilligent checking the internal temp and tuning it to 195.  But the flavors were there and, it all got gobbled up!  The sausage on the other hand came out PERFECT!!  There was a great smoke ring and were incredibly juicy.  Be careful not to over cook and pop the casing of the sausage.

Kielbasa sausage is so easy to make on the BGE. And they come out amazing!

A delicious spread of beef and pork!

Even though the brisket didnt come out how I anticipated, I learned a lot.  And I had a lot of fun because with long grilling sessions, come long beer drinking sessions.  Life is all good!

About BaconWrappedRob

Food, Photography, Sports, Pop Culture, and other fun stuff. But mostly food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Green Egging Brisket and Sausage

  1. I really enjoy how you garnished that brisket with sausage.

  2. John says:

    It was great, Rob.Don’t think there were many leftovers!

Leave a Reply

